Should we add more pools right now?

Terra proposal is interesting, i think it could be a good addition. I wonder if there should be some clarity on retroactive rewards before adding new pools though. Terra pool is certainly riskier than the current pools, so there would be no incentive for anyone to provide liquidity there (if its split by $ value over all pools), or it could be in large demand (if say rewards were split equally between all pools). If a Terra pool was added now, any liquidity would basically be speculation on which one of those options you end up choosing (as it was for ARC).

In a more general sense as well, should we be adding more pools? Is it even in shell’s best interest to increase TVL right now? (prior to any official LM program and/or V2 release). Keen to hear what everyone else thinks about this

2 Likes

The team is clearly stating that we need to consider adding more pools so I guess it’s on the menu!
As a Shell newbie I don’t know yet what should be added but I guess more stablecoins for now. PAX & TUSD being the biggest stablecoins not already available on Shell

Would it be possible to add it but in a sort of guarded mode? I consider the risk profiles Terra and ARC to be different. Terra’s stable coin has the advantage of being live much longer but theres an obvious risk of it being cross-chain.

1 Like

Yeah its certainly an option to add more, but i think community input on whether it is a good idea is worthwhile. How would new pools benefit shell protocol? Are they likely to bring in new users/liquidity/exposure to shell?

2 Likes

Although TVL isn’t the main focus right now, I think that growing TVL never hurts. But beyond that, I think there are some important benefits to launching new pools:

• build relationships with other protocols
  • deepen Shell’s track record as a viable option for liquidity
  • help the core team operationalize new pool creation